Uncertain about the sequel.

Writing up ORD, I felt pretty confident from start to finish about the flow of it. The balance of action to non-action, dialogue to description, etc. It’s kind of a quirky story to me, stemming from a dream and all, but at least I felt like it actually went somewhere.

I’m having real trouble with AtS, and as I write this I’m not sure if it’s going to work or not. The beginning is alright, I suppose, but then it has some action and was kind of already written for me anyway. I just smoothed it out. But how interesting will a courting story really be? With the exception of the beginning, there’s not much in the way of tension or conflict outside of Anita’s personal struggle with her past. In my opinion, that kind of emotional conflict can get old pretty quickly, so I’m trying to be really careful of that.

I have been trying to think of a way to incorporate some of what John does into the story, but since it’s from Anita’s POV there’s not a whole lot I can do there. I thought of a mission story or two in letters or emails, but because his team is entirely covert it would have to be rather general, and then it goes back to how interesting would it be to a reader?

I’m still writing it, still plugging away, but right now I’m feeling kind of lost.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Uncertain about the sequel.

  1. What about adding another POV character? Just because there wasn’t one in the first book doesn’t necessarily mean there can’t be now. In my opnion.

    • fogwood214 says:

      True, except that the POV is first person. Not sure how well it would work to mix first and third…or even switch to a different first person POV. Now that I think about it, though, that’s actually a really cool idea. I will have to ponder this more.

      Thank you for stopping by!

      • No problem! I’m working on a trilogy myself, so I understand where you’re coming from.

        • fogwood214 says:

          I ended up driving into town today (30 min drive), so I had an hour to think about this. I’m pretty sure I’ve come up with a way to switch between two POVs without it getting confusing, and doing this will also solve a time gap problem I had yet to even face. It’s gotten me excited about the story again! 🙂

          Good luck with the trilogy!

Leave a Reply

