Pen Wending news

This blog has been inactive for over a year, but that doesn’t mean I haven’t been writing!

Over the spring and summer months I wrote out a children’s story that has been in my imagination for…well, for as long as I’ve been writing, actually.

I now feel I’m in a place with it to pursue the next step…representation!

Behold, the Scary Thing that is the query letter. The single most important page I’ve ever written to date.

I spent a week researching and hours upon hours of reading. At some point, though, you’ve got to tell yourself “enough reading, time for action.”

Enter two days ago, when I finally sat down to draft the letter.

“Dear FirstName LastName:”

Then I got up, because who wants to ruin a perfectly good start with self-conscious wanderings of the tongue?

I’m a firm believer that the right word (or words) makes all the difference, and I’m not so arrogant as to think I’ll get all the right words down the first time, it’s just…this is a huge step!

In light of this next step, I’m putting together a test team. Once the letter is done, I will email it to the team for reactions. Hopefully that way I’ll catch any flaws before the real queries go out!

This entry was posted in News & Announcements and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

