A Snapshot of Where I Write

For 1 hour a day, occasionally 1 1/2 hours.

tmp_11813-wp_20170206_13_02_18_pro1965552954

Because nap time is it. That’s all I get.

You see, I have 5 kids ranging in age from 18 months to 8 years. Before I took on the more daunting writing goals, I decided I wouldn’t sacrifice my family for more time. I had to work with what I had.

It’s not easy. In fact, for 2 months last Fall it was so frustrating I quit writing altogether. I had to find a new method, and that became not just sitting with the 4 yr old while he fell asleep (he wouldn’t otherwise), but also staying in the room while he slept.tmp_11813-img_20170214_142048-463412669

The older kids (who don’t nap) know to Not Bother Mama and do their school or color or play with legos quietly. The 18 mo old sleeps at the same time, so I actually get an hour or so of solid quiet (most the time) to work on the novel or write a blog post.

Sometimes it means stopping before I want to (like the time I was 5 sentences away from killing off the bad guy, then the little man woke up), but I look at the kiddos and my husband as a bigger priority. I love them more than I love my book, and I want to make sure they know it.

In the mean time, I plug away at my literary goals little by little, one nap at a time.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

